Our backyard orchard

Yes, you too can have your own backyard orchard. If you follow my method you’ll head out to your local nursery and go crazy..It got to the point where I would buy a new tree and sneak it behind the fence before my wife saw it. One day I heard the girls say, “looks like daddy bought another tree, what kind of tree is that daddy?”..

So it continued until I wound up with 9..

3 pear, 2 apple, 1 orange, 1 lemon, 1 grapefruit, 1 loquat (the loquat was a gift from a friend who dug it up from his yard)…

In all honesty, if I had to do it over again, I would have take a more measured approach. Planting fruit trees is an investment in both time an money.

Young trees need a huge amount of care. Having a couple or three would be considered a commitment, 9 might be a disorder. Proper watering, fertilizing and pruning are all important elements to being able to grow a healthy tree. Again, just sticking them in the ground and expecting them to grow is a recipe for failure.

You have to select the site for your trees carefully. Is there proper drainage? Will they get enough sun, too much sun? Are they near irrigation or will you have to water them by hand? While these are important considerations, if you’re like me, all you care about is finding a space to put the tree. That means the largest open space that you’re not using for anything else. For us that was an open are one side of my house. Luckily our neighbors have quite a few trees along their fence, so they won’t mind..

This is 5 of the trees we have, and it’s hard to imagine what it will look like in another couple of years once they’ve filled out. All of them are doing very well, so it would seem my haphazard method of selecting a site for them worked..

back yard orchard

back yard orchard

 

On top of what we’ve already planted, I’m already staking out a site for adding the other trees I’ve started from seeds, peaches/nectarines and oranges.. That’s still a long ways down the road, but it’s always a good idea to plan ahead.

2 thoughts on “Our backyard orchard

  1. Jeremy, Nice way to get a nature fix. I always knew you were a kid who loved to be in the woods. Your orchard will bring the woods to you! Love, Mom

    Like

Let me know what you think...

