Putting in the fall garden

The heading makes it sound much more ambitious than it really is. I was tired of looking at all of the weeds, so the weekend before last I turned everything over, cleared out the weeds, added 4 or 5 bags of organic soil and dug a 4 ft long trench down the middle (it’s already covered in the picture) where I emptied the contents of my compost container. That will help add some much needed organic nutrients to the soil.

The sugar cane stalk is still there (all the way in the back). It’s the one thing that doesn’t seem to have any trouble growing. Too bad you can’t live off of it.

Anyway, one of the other problems I have with this part of the yard is the fact that it has a good bit of slope as it runs towards the fence. Whenever we get a decent rain, it would wash a layer of top soil away. To prevent that I’ve tried to bring the back half (towards the fence) more level with front by adding dirt. It’s been pretty dry the last couple of weeks, so I’ll have to wait until the first heavy rain to see whether it works.

IMG_20151010_114609039

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So far I’ve planted peas, broccoli and lettuce. There’s plenty of room for other things, just not sure what too add at this point. I’ll need to rerun the micro-irrigation set up once the new veggies start to sprout. For now I’m just hand watering with water from the rain barrels.

That’s all for now. Happy gardening.

Let me know what you think...

