It’s summer and I’m taking a break

I’ve been on a pretty long hiatus. Between a cruise to Alaska and very shortly another trip to Colorado, there hasn’t been a lot of time to do much gardening. Which leads me to the main topic of this post. Travelling and gardening don’t go well together, especially in the summer. Even with irrigation being away for anything more than a couple of days can lead to trouble. Say there’s a problem with your irrigation system, or you have an issue with pests that unexpectedly pops up. There’s no virtual gardener, at least not that I’m aware that will step in to help. Hmm, maybe I just hit on a new business idea.

Anyway, I’m leaving the garden “fallow”  for the time being and will look to replant closer to fall when the weather cools off a bit, focusing my efforts on plants that I’ve previously had luck with.

IMG_20160713_072728213-1200x1600

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On another note, I’m happy to report that most of the fruit trees are doing well. Will put some pictures up in another post. Didn’t get any apples this year and something happened with the pears only one blossomed, but overall they look good. One lesson I’ve learned is that over-watering can be worse than not getting enough water. Can’t remember the last time I watered the trees, probably a couple of weeks. Now we have had rain but not that much, but I’m going to continue to hold off on the supplemental irrigation unless they completely dry out. My theory is the roots will have to work harder to look for water and that will make them more drought tolerant. I have no scientific evidence to back it up, only my observations.

That’s all for now.

Stay cool and happy gardening.

Let me know what you think...

