Spring garden

Not sure if it’s really spring, or we just went right into summer. In any case, I wasn’t sure whether I was going to put a garden in this year. However, the beautiful weather coulpled with my mascohistic tendencies seem to have gotten the better of me.

The plot was completely overrun with weeds, but I was able to get that squared away after a good hour of digging. It was pretty warm out, my wife brought me some water and suggested I take a break..I couldn’t, once I get started on something I need to finish it…

Mixed in whatever was left from the composting bin and then made mounds to plant the seeds. I overplanted so once things start sprouting I’ll need to thin them out.

This year I used a grease pen and row markers so I could remember what I planted and where. Here’s a list of what I planted, everything is from seed, so I have my doubts about the tomatoes. Will just have to wait and see:

  • watermelon
  • pole beans
  • jalepenos
  • tomatoes (Early Girl and beefsteak)
  • cucumbers
  • basil

 

 

 

 

It’s been a dry spring, so I’m having to supplement by watering from the rain barrels and they’re almost empty. May reinstall the drip irrigation if it get’s to be too much of a hassle.

Happy gardening!!

One thought on “Spring garden

Let me know what you think...

