Pear tree grafting in Florida

Feeling a sense of confidence from my recent apple grafting success I wanted to give it a try with pears. I’ve got a total of 4 pear trees in my backyard orchard. Pineapple, Kieffer, Flordahome and Leconte. None of which have yielded any fruit. The Flordahome is a recent addition, and the Kieffer almost died from a fire blight strike that nearly took out the entire tree. Fortunately, I was able to save it.

Anyway, I connected with someone on the growingfruit.com site who had some spare Harrow Delight wood and was kind enough to send it to me free of charge. Some of it was already showing signs of leafing out, so I started grafting as soon as the wood arrived. I mostly used the whip and tongue technique same as I did with the apple trees. In addition I tried a cleft graft. The jury is still out on whether that one will take.

Harrow is supposed to be blight resistant, which is good. On the other hand based on what I’ve read it requires pollinators that I don’t have. In addition the chill requirements are more than double what we get here in north Florida.

Here are a couple of pics from the Leconte pear graft. It’s already showing signs of life. While that’s encouraging, it doesn’t necessarily mean it will fruit. Guess we’ll just have to wait and see how this experiment pans out. Stay tuned.

Happy gardening!

 

IMG_20170419_184429567_HDR-2254x4007.jpgIMG_20170419_184444317-4007x2254.jpg

Let me know what you think...

