Thank you squirrels, no apples this year

Those wonderful tree rats, AKA squirrels made sure that we wouldn’t get a chance to taste any apples from the backyard orchard this year.

In a previous post I showed the apples that were growing on my largest tree, a Dorsett Golden and how I thinned them to help the tree put on more growth this year.

IMG_20170411_173756372_HDR-4007x2254.jpg

In the end I left 4 apples. Unfortunately, over the course of the next 4 to 5 weeks the apples disappeared until I was down to just one. Then about a week ago the last apple was taken. This is all that was left. I was more than a little bummed. But I’m a human an apex predator, top of the food chain. There’s no way I’m going to be outdone by a rodent. This is the part where I will pause and tell you my wife and kids think I’m absolutely “nuts”, no pun intended, and have a squirrel obsession. Maybe, but I will say that I’m in good company. There are many other fruit growers out there with the same frustrations and “malicious” intent towards squirrels.

IMG_20170601_103116402-4008x2255.jpg

Queue up the creepy voice…**WARNING READ THE REMAINDER OF THIS POST AT YOUR OWN RISK, NOT FOR SQUIRREL LOVERS OR THE FAINT OF HEART**

.

.

.

.

.

What can you do about the squirrel scourge?? The honest answer is not much, there are too damn many of them. If you see 3 or 4 there are probably more like 20. In most major cities they’re considered a nuisance. Some will trap and relocate. That’s a joke because they simply become someone else’s problem. An air rifle works fine. However, depending on where you live that may or may not be an option. Then there is lethal trapping. The tube trap is a popular style and the one that I recently started using (pictured below, no squirrels were harmed..cough cough). A company called WCS sells them, which is where I bought mine. I’ve had a lot of success with this trap and it seems to have slowed them down a bit. Maybe I’ll get lucky and they’ll decide to relocate to a more squirrel friendly location. Time will tell.

Happy squirrel free gardening!!!

IMG_20170526_195012521-4008x2255.jpg

